Showing posts with label Baseball. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Baseball. Show all posts

Friday, January 16, 2009

Barry Bonds

Did everybody forget that we live in America?

Whatever happend to innocent until PROVEN guilty?

With Bonds, it seems like everybody is on the GUILTY because someone else said so bandwagon.

The best part about this, is that now even the perjury charges against him are more than likely going to get dropped, because it turns out that the substance he took was not banned by MLB when he took it, was not classified as a steroid by the government when he took, and oh yeah, was not illegal in any way shape or form when he took it. It didn't become any of those things until well after.

I do think steroids in baseball are a problem, and I do think something should be done about it.

But in order for something to be done, there has to be concrete proof. Mass amounts of speculation based on circumstancial evidence, no matter how convincing, is NOT concrete proof.

It seems that at least 50% of cases where a player is torn down for steroid use, it is based on what someone else has said about them.

Alot of people, when denouncing players suspected of steroid usage, will point to the Mitchell report. The Mitchell report, however, contains absolutly NO hard data / verifiable information. That whole report is based on interviews with people. If someone was named in that report it is only because someone else pointed a finger, not because there was any concret facts proving a players guilt. The entire report is based on heresay.

A player should not have to prove their innocence. Their innocence is assumed. It has to be. That is the way the justice system works, the principle that it is based on.

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

One day, in a perfect world.....

I'll have a job that doesn't offer insane amounts of overtime, that way I won't be subliminally coerced into exhausting myself for extra pay.

Then I remember that I want to be a Paramedic.


On to other things. Game 5 of the World Series is tonight. Again. I do have to retract my previous statement though. I actually do care bout the series now. I hope the Phillies win. I think they shouldve won to tell you the truth. That game could have been called at the end of the 5th, and the Phillies would have won. Not very exciting, but the weather called for it. But no, the umpires and grounds crew waited, with probably more than a little suggestion from the commissioner, and look at that they delay the game after the Rays tie it. Then it gets suspended, then the suspended game gets postponed, and now its tonight.

The final season of The Shield on fx is amazing so far. I think there is only 4 episodes left. I'm gonna miss that show, Good thing for DVDs.

I need a nap. Seriously. 7 0 clock rolls around, and I am gonna disappear til like 11 or 12....it'll make staying here til 3 am just a little more bearable.